Chongqing University

Chongqing University (CQU) is a key national university and a member of the “Excellence League”, located in Chongqing, Southwest China. It is also one of the “211 Project" and "985 Project” universities with full support in construction and development from the central government and Chongqing Municipal Government.

Founded in 1929, Chongqing University now consists of six faculties in Science, Social Sciences, Humanities, Engineering, Built Environment, Information Science and Technology. The University has 35 schools, and offers 96 undergraduate programs, 236 postgraduate programs, 121 doctoral programs, 19 professional degrees, and 29 mobile workstations for postdoctoral study.

Among its various departments, Chongqing University is especially highly ranked in the Built Environment, Engineering, Technology, and Business disciplines. At present, Chongqing University is in possession of 22 state key subjects and 14 key subjects under the state "211 Project", 38 provincial or ministerial key subjects. The university sets up 11 national key labs, 8 ministerial key labs, and 180 provincial key labs of different specialties.

Currently, the university hosts 50,000 students, including 27,000 undergraduates, 21,000 graduates, and over 1600 international students from 129 countries. The university has a total of 5,300 faculty and staff members, among whom 5 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, 10 members of the Subject Appraisal Team of the Degree Committee under the State Council, 4 chief scientists of the National 973 Project, 5 state-level middle-aged or young experts with distinguished contributions to their fields, and over 600 doctorate supervisors, 1,900 professors and associate professors.

Chongqing University has established cooperation with 115 institutions of higher education in over 20 countries, such as the USA, UK, France, Germany, Italy, Netherland, Canada, Australia, Japan, South Korea etc. The university has also established  partnership with many prestigious international corporations or institutions, such as Siemens, Rockwell Automation, IBM, Microsoft, Lipo Group, New York Life Insurance, Omron, ABB, Ford, etc,. Chongqing University has three Confucius Institutes in Thailand, Italy and Australia respectively, which promote the cooperation and development in the teaching and research of Chinese language and culture.

The university covers a total area of 5,450 mu (about 178 hectares), with 1.5 million square meters of floor space in four lively campuses.

We have a limited arrangement with Chongqing University. Only if a student has done 2 years of Bachelor of Software Engineering (Honours) with an average of 75% at Chongqing University can they get credit towards Bachelor of Software Engineering (Honours). Please note that students that received below a 75% average are invited to apply; however, admission and advance standing will be assessed on a case-by-case basis.

Students from Chongqing University can apply online for Undergraduate degrees covered by the agreement with the ANU.

Education agents can submit an application on behalf of the students via Studylink Portal, selecting "Partnership Appl UG 3999" (Undergraduate degrees).

For further information about the agreement between Chongqing University and ANU please click on the advanced standing tab below.

Updated:  10 August 2021/Responsible Officer:  Dean, CECS/Page Contact:  CECS Marketing